Manitoba Major Junior Hockey League
Charleswood Hawks Ft.Garry/Ft.Rouge Twins Pembina Valley Twisters Raiders Jr. Hockey Club River East Royal Knights St. Boniface Riels St. James Jr. Canucks St. Vital Jr. Victorias Stonewall Jets Transcona Railer Express
St. James
Jr. Canucks
12-1-0  Playoffs 2023-2024
gf/g: 4.46
ga/g: 2.15
pp: 25.6%
pk: 86.4%

St. James Jr. Canucks History

The St. James Jr. Canucks joined the league in 1978-1979 to help complement the St. James Junior Canadians of The MJHL. After a meeting with MMJHL President Ed Rutherford, Carl Wullum, President, and Tom Miller, Vice President of St. James-Assiniboia Minor Hockey Association co-founded the Canucks. With the number of players of junior age at that time they felt that another Junior team would help keep the young men playing hockey in St. James. The area had eight Juvenile teams, which included a Juvenile AA team, a Midget AA team, as well as five Midget Tier III and IV teams.


Tom Miller and Carl Wullum asked Mel Shandroski if he would take on the President's position; unfortunately, he was transferred to Thunder Bay before the team began operating, and Tom Miller took over as President.  


The team has mainly been made up of St. James players with great support from the St. James Assiniboia Minor Hockey Association and all the community centers in the St. James area. The Canucks had their first set of sweaters donated by the St. James-Assiniboia Optimist Club. Mr. Spencer of the St. James Recreation Department built an equipment room for the team at the Allard Arena which was the club's first home.  


The First Executive was made up of Tom Miller, President, Carl Wullum, Executive Vice President, Del Buxton, Vice President, Ron Sprague, Vice President, Finance, Chris Eveleigh, Secretary, Jack Eveleigh, Gate, Roger Cathcart, Publicity, Angie D’Errico, Ways and Means, and Gerry Emmons, Program Printer. The first staff included Coach, Neil Sharpe, Manager, Ross Fick, and Equipment Manager, Dennis Coxworth.

The Jr Canucks have won four championships (1997-98, 2021-22, 2022-23 and 2023-24).

St. James Jr. Canucks St. James Jr. Canucks 1
Transcona Railer Express Transcona Railer Express 8
Pembina Valley Twisters Pembina Valley Twisters 2
Raiders Jr. Hockey Club Raiders Jr. Hockey Club 7
St. Boniface Riels St. Boniface Riels 3
Ft.Garry/Ft.Rouge Twins Ft.Garry/Ft.Rouge Twins 6
Charleswood Hawks Charleswood Hawks 4
St. Vital Jr. Victorias St. Vital Jr. Victorias 5

Leading Scorers Playoffs 2023-2024

Leading Goaltenders Playoffs 2023-2024
powered by